Did you know that …

about 150 million chocolate Santa Clauses are produced in Germany every year for the whole world? And that most of them are wrapped in aluminum?

Every year, numerous Santa Clauses are made of chocolate in Germany and exported all over the world. In order to protect them, many of those are wrapped in aluminum. The packaging prevents components of the printing ink and other substances from getting to the inside. It also protects the chocolate from light and thus, ensures its quality.

The first chocolate Santa Clauses are said to have been made around 1820. Back then, confectioners made them from solid chocolate. The well-known hollow form was only developed about 20 years later and is still the most common form.

Even today, the production of the chocolate Santa Claus is still an extensive process. Approximately 24 hours are needed to produce a single one including the packaging. The aluminum foil has established itself as “clothing”. Besides its protective properties, it is stiff and adapts perfectly to the contours of the chocolate. In addition, aluminum is one of the most sustainable metals on earth because it can be recycled without loss of quality – and with only 5% of the energy originally used.

Approximately 75% of the aluminum ever produced is still in circulation today and the chocolate Santa Claus also contributes to this. After recycling, the aluminum clothing can even become extruded profiles or aluminum bus flaps.

Wussten Sie, dass…

in Deutschland jedes Jahr ca. 150 Millionen Schokonikoläuse für die ganze Welt hergestellt werden? Und die meisten davon in Alufolie eingewickelt sind?

Jedes Jahr werden in Deutschland zahlreiche Weihnachtsmänner und Nikoläuse aus Schokolade hergestellt und in die ganze Welt exportiert. Um diese optimal zu schützen, werden viele davon in Aluminium eingewickelt. Die Verpackung verhindert, dass Bestandteile der Druckfarbe und andere Substanzen von außen nach innen dringen. Zudem schützt sie die Schokolade vor Licht und sichert so die Qualität.

Die ersten Weihnachtsmänner aus Schokolade sollen um 1820 hergestellt worden sein. Damals stellten Konditoreien diese aus massiver Schokolade her. Die bekannte Hohlform wurde erst ca. 20 Jahre später entwickelt und ist bis heute die gängigste Variante, um die Schokolade in die richtige Form zu bringen.

Noch heute ist die Herstellung des Schokoladenweihnachtsmannes ein umfangreiches Verfahren. Circa 24 Stunden werden benötigt, um einen Weihnachtsmann inklusive der Verpackung zu fertigen. Die Aluminiumfolie hat sich dabei als „Bekleidung“ etabliert. Neben den schützenden Eigenschaften ist sie formstabil und passt sich an den Konturen der Schokolade perfekt an. Zudem ist Aluminium eines der nachhaltigsten Metalle der Erde, da es ohne Qualitätseinbußen recycelt werden kann – und das mit nur 5 % der ursprünglich aufgewendeten Energie.

Ca. 75 % des jemals hergestellten Aluminiums sind noch heute im Umlauf und auch der Schokoweihnachtsmann trägt hierzu bei. So ist es möglich, dass aus der Aluminiumbekleidung der Nikoläuse im nächsten Leben sogar Strangpressprofile oder Aluminiumbusklappen werden.